The other day I wondered whether or not Google Music would be another nail in the coffin of the dying-for-years CD, or if it was just one more step in that company’s plan to rule our lives from dawn to. . .well, dawn. I made the formal request to be part of the services beta version, and it huffed at me that my application would be reviewed.

Meanwhile, Amazon clapped me on the back and invited me right in to its new service – the Amazon Cloud Player. You upload some (or all, if you buy enough storage) of your music, then stream it from any PC or your Android device. Your first five gigs are free, and you can up that to 20 if you buy an MP3 album from Amazon.

Right now I’m uploading nearly two gigs of songs from my iTunes music library to my cloud. I’ll see how it works and let you know. Deal?

