I start reading Chapter 5 of Change by Design on Tuesday, which means we are nearly halfway through the book.  I found a copy of it at Barnes & Noble last week.  With the pages duplexed and cropped, it looks so small.  Right now I’m reading from a single-sided, full-sheeted proof.  At more than 200 pages, it looks daunting. 

I’ve found that the recording sessions actually run a little smoother when I read over a chapter before I head into the booth.  That’s normally a good practice.  But I’ve always done well with cold readings, so I thought this would not be that different.  One name changed my mind.  During a session, I slammed on the brakes when I came up against this name:  Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi.  A Hungarian psychology professor, Csikszentmihalyi (full name phonetically pronounced as mee-high cheek-ZHENT-mee-high – and it took a couple of viewings of YouTube clips featuring him to get it) is all about joy at work.  Not just enjoying your colleagues or the environment, but getting acutal joy out of focusing on the tasks you face.  Being in the zone, so to speak.  His major work is called Flow

So now I spend an hour with each chapter before I head into the booth, marking potential trouble spots and names, which I should have been doing all along.  But reading an entire book is far different from a 30-second spot.  One’s a sprint, the other’s a marathon.  And in a marathon, you can’t just show up, sign up, get a number, and start running.

