One of my favorite blogs, Neo-Neocon, features a  (sometimes) daily entry called “Spambot of the Day.”  Those of us in blogland get the occasional spam comment on a post, none of which ever have anything to do with what was written.  Take this one, for instance, on my post Songs in the Key of 007:

Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful info particularly the last part :) I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

Glad to know that my thoughts on Chris Cornell’s “You Know My Name” were so useful at the end of someone’s exhausting Internet search.

Yet another on this post featuring my late father singing the Air Corps Song:

I was curious if you ever thought of changing the layout of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a [sic] little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better? Also I suggest that you could add more interesting topics in your articles like breast cancer. Thanks…

For one, I don’t see major layout problems with this blog.  It’s a canned theme from WordPress, and I found it to be pretty easy on the eyes.  For two, I rarely use images.  For three, this blog is about the fields in which I work, plus some this-n-that on related subject matter.  It doesn’t deal with health issues.  Cancer is horrendous and my hat is always off to those who beat it.  But it’s not what I’m about in my little fragment of cyberspace.

Spambot comments are easily dismissable.  But sometimes they provide some non-sequiturish chuckles.

