So even though Apple and Adobe still haven’t completely made nice-nice with each other over the whole silly Flash sucks slap-fight, according to Rick Zanotti, it brought about a pretty big change:

Following Apple’s footsetps, Adobe has lowered the price of its products dramatically by going with a subscription model.  This guarantees Adobe recurring revenue on a monthly basis, makes financial predictions and investments clear and allows for a consistent flow of money to pay for development and Marketing. But more than all of this, the end-user, Adobe’s customers, benefit greatly from the reduced pricing and ease of implementation.

As a Captivate subscriber, I can say that removing the initial sticker shock of buying software was a bonus.  I might not be saving money over the long term, but I didn’t have an initial cash outlay, and I can use the software as long as I keep the subscription going.  Not a bad deal.

