Myron Doan used to be the program director at WMKY-FM in Morehead, Kentucky, the public radio station where I worked while attending Morehead State University.  For three consecutive summers in the early 1980s I worked full time there.  Two evenings a week I hosted the nighttime top-40 show called “Spectrum,” which ran from 9:00 until the station signed off at midnight.

My final summer at Morehead was spent finishing up coursework for my MA in English.  I still managed to squeeze in a shift at the station for a little extra money, but my days as a DJ were ending and my thoughts were of something a little more serious – teaching – and I still had a thesis to complete and defend.

This song, which was released several months before I left Morehead, gently guides me back to those summer nights at WMKY, spinning hits from Billy Squirer, The Human League, Soft Cell, Foreigner, The Clash, Judas Priest, AC/DC, and, of course, The Motels, along with so many others.

Myron Doan – a friend, a mentor, a fraternity brother – died this morning.  He was only 64 years old.

For you, Myron.  May it suddenly be last summer.

 

UPDATE:  I only knew Myron when I was in radio.  He later became MSU’s Dean of Students and the school’s cheerleading coach.  For a perspective of that side of his life, please read Christen Young’s excellent remembrance.

