He was one of many in the business of providing test keys and answers to homework assignments, taking online course tests, helping write papers, and more all to help hundreds of athletes meet NCAA requirements.

He calls himself Mr. White. He was a fixer. He now wants to come clean.

Many years ago when I was an adjunct English instructor at the University of Louisville, I had the great fortune to meet legendary football coach Howard Schnellenberger – who was coaching U of L at the time – at a church dinner. I managed to introduce myself and tell him I taught at the school. He asked if any of his players were in my classes. I gave him some names. They had all been good students. The coach was happy to hear that.

He then pulled me aside and gave me his card. “Listen,” he said in that sandpapery gruff voice of his, “if any of my guys ever give you a hard time, never come to class, or if their work is bad, call me. Don’t call academic-athletic advising, don’t notify your department head, pick up the phone and call me. ”

I fortunately never had to do that, but it gave me some comfort to know that a major figure in college athletics took his team’s academic work so seriously that he was willing to deal with their academic difficulties directly.

(h/t: Instapundit)

 

