Well, sort of. Thing is, I returned to teaching last year as an adjunct lecturer of English at a major university somewhere in the south. Yes, I’ve posted some critical pieces about the state of higher education over the years, and I still view that realm with a critical eye. However, I do so as someone who has spent more than 25 years in the private sector, who has returned from the wilderness, so to speak. Or as T.S. Eliot put it in Prufrock, “I am Lazarus, come from the dead / Come back to tell you all, I shall tell you all. . . .”

(And as a note: instead of searching for a version of Prufrock online so I could find that quote, I actually searched through my bookshelves for my edition of T.S. Eliot’s complete poems and plays, which shows that: a) I fell back onto old-school methods to find a source and b) I actually still have my copy of Eliot’s complete works and knew exactly where it was and which line I was going to use.)

I’ve had some great students this past year, worked with some great folks, and had some experiences where I’ve grown as a teacher and a writing professional. I think I’ve gone as far as I could as a technical writer and e-learning developer. Guess it’s time for a new adventure.

 

